Rogaining depends on volunteers, and we are always looking for more. Setting and vetting assistance is required for the November bush event. We’d also like to begin planning for 2018 including more events in the north of the state. Email us using  if you want to volunteer or if you are curious as to what is involved.
The 2017 Intervarsity Rogaining Championship will be held in conjunction with the Australian Rogaining Championships in May. The Nigel Aylott Memorial Sports Foundation (NAMSF) supports university students to travel to the event. NAMSF was set up in memory of Nigel, a keen adventure racer and rogainer, to encourage engagement in these outdoor sports.

The Intervarsity Rogaining Championship is open to all university students (full-time, part-time, undergraduate, or post-graduate). Students in a team must be from the same university. In awarding the travel subsidy, preference is given to undergraduate teams.  There are more details at:

If you are interested please write to Nick on .  If we get more than one application the committee will award the subsidy to the most experienced and successful team based on past performances.

WRC16 PP EDM 595x600 RGB ãÆEntries are still available in the 2016 World Rogaining Championship to be held in the East McDonnell Ranges near Alice Springs 23-24 July 2016.


This will be held at Ross Kelly's house, 30 Caroline Street, Dynnyrne, commencing 12 noon on Sunday 21 February, 2016.  The meeting will precede an Australopers Orienteering Club BBQ and AGM that starts at 12:30pm.  You are most welcome to stay for the BBQ.

AGM documents are available here.

This was certainly the most successful event we have held in years.  It attracted many entries from the mainland and some from overseas.  Particular thanks are due to Gary Carroll, Matt Chamberlain, Bernard Walker and Sarah Brain for the many days they spent designing and setting the course.  Thanks also to the many others who helped with the event organisation too.  We were grateful for the help we received from competitors who helped collect controls on the Sunday after the event.

Both events were won by teams from the mainland.  David Baldwin and Julie Quinn from ACTRA won the 24hr event , Steve Loch and Polly Weston from WARA won the 8hr event.  Read an account of how they won kindly provided by Julie Quinn here.

David Julie 2

David Baldwin and Julie Quinn winners of the 24hr event

Some Tasmanian teams performed well: Luke Rapley and Kris Clauson came 3rd in the 24hr event, Kieren Blake, Bromwyn Kimber and Steve Lock came 2nd in the 8hr event.